Skip to content
Scholarship with a Shepherd’s Heart

Faculty & Staff

Home » Faculty & Staff

Our faculty is comprised of leading theologians and experienced ministry leaders who are dedicated to shaping the next generations of leaders for the church. Their mix of academic excellence, real ministry experience, and doctrinal diversity has positioned them to prepare students for lasting ministry in almost any context.

Brian Arnold, PhD

President
Associate Professor of Theology

Read Profile >>

Roger Ball, DMin

Associate Professor
Leadership and Ministry

Read Profile >>

John DelHousaye, PhD

Professor of New Testament
& Spiritual Formation

Read Profile >>

Wayne Grudem, PhD

Distinguished Research Professor
Theology and Biblical Studies

Read Profile >>

Peter Gurry, PhD

Assistant Professor of New Testament
Codirector of Text & Canon Institute

Read Profile >>

Malcolm Hartnell, PhD

Professor Emeritus
Intercultural Studies

Read Profile >>

John Meade, PhD

Associate Professor of Old Testament
Director of ThM Program
Co-Director of Text & Canon Institute

Read Profile >>

Justin Smith, PsyD

Professor
Director of Counseling Program

Read Profile >>

J. Michael Thigpen PhD

Provost
Professor of Old Testament

Read Profile >>

Steve Tracy, PhD

Professor
Theology and Ethics

Read Profile >>

Joshua Anderson, DMin

Dean of Students
Assistant Dean for Distance Education
Director of Doctor of Ministry Program

Owen Anderson, PhD

Philosophy and Natural Theology
Arizona State University

Christine Bielinski, PhD

Counseling
Private Practice

Bud Brown, DMin

Doctor of Ministry
Turnaround Pastors, Inc.

Travis Buchanan, PhD

Theology
Colorado Christian University

Kuo-Yi Chung, PhD

Counseling
Professional Counseling Associates

Ed Clavell, DMin

Leadership and Administration
Arizona Christian University

Mark DeYmaz, DMin

Doctor of Ministry
Founding Pastor,
Mosaic Church of Central Arkansas

Kyle DiRoberts, PhD

Biblical Literature and Theology
Arizona Christian University

Steve Duby, PhD

Theology
Grand Canyon University

Al Fadi, MA

Intercultural Studies
The Center for Islamic Research and Awareness

Bryan Fergus, DMin

Biblical Literature and Doctor of Ministry
Calvary Phoenix

Alan Gomes, PhD

Senior Research Fellow
Talbot School of Theology
Theology

Martin Gonzalez, DMin

Intercultural Studies
Scottsdale Bible Church

Preston Hancock, MDiv

Leadership and Administration
Red Mountain Community Church

Steve Johnson, MDiv, STM

Intercultural Studies
Illuminate Community Church

Reid Kisling, PhD

Doctor of Ministry
Western Seminary

Brian Koning, ThM

Biblical Literature
Grand Canyon University

Jonathan Logan, DMin

Pastoral Theology
Antioch Church of God in Christ

Stephen Macchia, DMin

Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary
Spiritual Formation

Dennis Magary, PhD

Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
Old Testament

Gary McIntosh, DMin, PhD

Talbot School of Theology
Doctor of Ministry

William Mobley, PhD

Counseling
Mobley Clinical Services

Chris Newkirk, DMin

MAA Program
Whitton Avenue Bible Church

Chuck Newkirk, DMin

MAA Program and Biblical Communication
Church on Mill

Vermon Pierre, MDiv

Pastoral Ministry
Roosevelt Bible Church

Brian Reed, MTh

Old Testament Hebrew
Glendale Christian Church

Jerry Root, PhD

Wheaton College
Theology

Eckhard Schnabel, ThM, PhD

Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary
New Testament

Thomas Schreiner, PhD

Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
New Testament

Jerri Shields, LPC

Counseling
Choice Counseling Services

Ryan Stephens, PhD

Biblical Literature
Phoenix Christian Preparatory School

Kathy Thomas, PhD

Counseling

Roxane Thorstad, PsyD

Counseling
Journeys Counseling

John Trent, PhD

Counseling and Family
StrongFamilies

Josh Vincent, MDiv

MAA Program
Trinity Bible Church

Jeffrey Weima, PhD

Calvin Theological Seminary
New Testament

Ted Wueste, STM, DMin

Spiritual Formation
Spiritual Formation Society of Arizona

Robert Yarbrough, PhD

Covenant Theological Seminary
New Testament

Josh Anderson, DMin

Dean of Students
Assistant Dean for Distance Education
Director of Doctor of Ministry Program
janderson@ps.edu

Deborah Arnitz

Comptroller
darnitz@ps.edu

Christian Cordova

Hispanic Studies Director
ccordova@ps.edu

Debbie Crane

Front Desk Receptionist/Enrollment Assistant
dcrane@ps.edu

Brenda Dinell, MA, MDiv, JD

Faculty Support Administrator
bdinell@ps.edu

Rick Efird, ThM, DMin

Director of Church Partnerships
refird@ps.edu

Darius Gasatura

Assistant to the Registrar
dgasatura@ps.edu

Yvonne Gonzales

Executive Administrative/Campus Manager
ygonzales@ps.edu

Lynn Gordon

Financial Aid Officer
lgordon@ps.edu

Hayley Huls

Enrollment Counselor
hhuls@ps.edu

Zac Lusk

Student Services Advisor
zlusk@ps.edu

Mitch Miller, MABTS

Reference/Acquisitions Librarian
mmiller@ps.edu

Paul Newman

Campus Facilities Coordinator
pnewman@ps.edu

Chandler Nick

Videographer
cnick@ps.edu

Doug Olbert, MDiv, MLIS

Director of Library Services
dolbert@ps.edu

Roma Royer

Assistant Dean of Academic Services & Assessment
rroyer@ps.edu

Jim Santeford, MLIS

Technical Services Librarian
jsanteford@ps.edu

Akisha Seidemann

Student Development Coordinator
aseidemann@ps.edu

Rick Sharpe

Accounting Specialist
rsharpe@ps.edu

Bill Slease, MDiv

Senior Course Developer
bslease@ps.edu

Merry Stenson, MEd

Registrar
mstenson@ps.edu

Nancy Stocking

Human Resources Director
nstocking@ps.edu

Josh Tanner

Educational Technologist
Webmaster
jtanner@ps.edu

Christian Thurman

Enrollment Counselor
cthurman@ps.edu

David Walther, MDiv, PhD

Assistant Director of Field Education and Internship, MAC Program
Scottsdale Bible Church
dwalther@ps.edu

David Wyman

Student Services Advisor
dwyman@ps.edu

Begin Your Seminary Adventure

Join a community of students and leaders on a path to change this world through
His Word, His Heart and His Church.
ps-footer-logo

602-850-8000
7901 East Shea Boulevard, Scottsdale, AZ 85260
© 2020 Phoenix Seminary
Institutional Policies